My Fine Natural Hair

I’m learning a lot about my hair. The newest revelation is that I have ‘fine’ hair. I seem to have a lot of this type of hair but just the same it is ‘fine’. So does this matter? Well yes it does and it answers a few questions such as why don’t flat twist outs look like the ones ive seen on Youtube but instead are so scalpy? Why do I have to really puff my hair up to get rid of those lines? Why do I find broken strands on my fingers when I sometimes do finger coils? It is because I have fine hair.

Fine Natural Hair
Fine Natural Hair

I’ve been doing some reading on the subject but unfortunately there isn’t a lot out there. I will continue in my search for what works well on my hair but I feel I have a long way to go. Nevertheless, I’m loving it! I can’t wait to see what my hair can do as it gets longer, what it will look like and how much of it I have. I am also experimenting with my daughter’s hair which is coarser than mine and hoping to teach her to love her natural hair too.

2 thoughts on “My Fine Natural Hair

    1. I have, of course, done a bit of reading on this and there are some things you can do. You can fluff your hair up from the root to make fine hair look thicker. I also understand taking supplements like Biotin can help to improve hair. On further reading people have said that their coarse hair has turned fine over the years so why can’t the opposite happen.

      Check out the following:
      http://blackgirllonghair.com/2011/10/the-naturals-guide-to-fine-hair/2/

Leave a Reply

